Tools and stuff you wished you had when you started...

So as a new builder I've found a few things which would have made the whole process alot quicker (and neater in some cases!) as the build went on..

• Mirka abranet sanding net - OMG this stuff is incredable, more than worth the cost if you dont have a random orbital sander and with no mess or epoxy clog
  • Silicon grouting shapers - filleting for perfectionists.
  • Rubber concave/convex sanding forms - for finicky fillets.

And some I wish I hadn't bothered with:

• Veritas roundover hand planes (messed up rails)
  • Regular sandpaper (see above)

What have you found you can no longer do without as your build went on?

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Tools and stuff you wished you had when you started...

���I tried scarfing a bunch of Doug fir with a hand plane at first. I quickly bought a power plane and appreciated it very much. Making rails and spars with a circular saw looks ridiculously hard in hindsight now that I have a table saw. I still don't own a router, chop saw, or bench planer but they have crossed mind

Shinto rasp... one of those things made up of a buncha hacksaw blades, teeth on both sides. Bought one in '72 for building a stripper scow, still have it! Works great on epoxy for shaping & smoothing out drips & stuff.

Multi-tool! Corded or battery; mine's a corded Bosch I bought eight years ago for working with cedar siding. Finding it invaluable for sanding epoxy in cockpit of my current build, one of CLC's Waterlust canoes.  

riffler rasps:

https://www.clcboats.com/modules/catalog/product.php?category_qn=boat-building-supplies-epoxy-fiberglass-plywood&subcat_qn=booth-tools&code=riffler-rasp-set

Mighty handy little devils.

.....Michael

About a decade ago I got a router, I forget what the project was, but it didn't get used much.  It was fabulous for trimming the deck on the Kaholo, cutting the deck plate hole, and installing the inlay.