Experience with Sea Gold?

I am the third owner of a NE Dory.  While the boat is structurally excellent and in very good cosmetic condition, it is clear that I will need to refresh the brightwork after the season.

In looking at Wooden Boat (Jan 2018 issue), I read a reasonably positive review of Sea Gold (http://www.pettitpaint.com/products/varnish-wood-finishes/exterior-varnish/seagold/ ) as a replacement for traditional varnish.  This water soluble product claims not to need sanding between coats and dries fast enough to allow 3-4 coats per day.  These chracteristics are very appealing to a non-pro like me. 

Has anybody in the community had experience with this prodict, especially on top of pre-existing varnish?  Is it durable?  I don't need to worry about UV resistance since my dory is in a heated garage when not on the water.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Experience with Sea Gold?

I have no direct experience with Sea Gold but I have also read the reviews.  I used Pettit paints on my cruising boat for years so I know that they are a good company.  I know that Clint Chase (owner of Chase Small Craft) recently posted on his FB page that he used Sea Gold on a new construction and had good things to say.

When I was building my GIS, I was looking for one of the "quicker to apply" varnishes.  Sea Gold looked good but had just been introduced so there were no reviews yet.  I went with Epifanes Rapidclear Semi-Gloss.  It is not water based like Sea Gold but can be recoated in 5 hours and does not need to be sanded between coats.  I put 5 coats on the interior of my Goat in 8 hours total over 2.5 days.  It is easy to apply and looks good, but not as great as a high build product like Schooner.  They also sell a tinted version called Rapidcoat which I will use on my next kayak build.  

Which ever product that you use, make sure that you talk to their technical support regarding its compatability with the current varnish.