Capsize Preparation

Someone in another thread asked me to elaborate on preparing for a capsize.  It is way off topic for that thread, so I'm starting this one.  I'm no expert, but I have recently survived a capsize in a fully rigged Skerry.

"Hooper, can you please elaborate on how to be prepared for a capsize?

I worry about capsizing. Dunno why since I've done canoe camping for years in a tandem canoes and they can't be self-righted without getting to shore first. Never tipped one of those."

I'll try, John, but almost any other source would be more authoritative.  A sail and oar boat has a lot more pieces than a canoe.  You have to account for all of those, both in capsize preparation and recovery.

-   Wear a pfd.  In this case, I never felt the need to inflate mine, but I           was glad I had it.

-   Secure every little thing to the boat.  I know this from white- water canoeing and practice it diligently.  Even so, I lost one of four oarlocks and the glasses off my face.  You have to think about it.  It's not enough to loosely tie a light line to something.  Think about the heavy forces of water trying to separate that item from the boat.  That's what you're preparing for.  Items to secure to the boat should include your oars, oarlocks, rudder, tiller, etc., etc.   If you carry an anchor, you don't want it to deploy while the boat is upside down and you don't want to lose it, either.

-          Likewise, waterproof and secure all personal effects to your body.  My keys, wallet and cellphone were zippered into my pockets.  My wallet was in a zip lock bag, but the bag failed.  You get funny looks when you hand a cashier soggy money.  My cellphone is waterproof and that feature got a thorough and successful test.  I'm so used to wearing glasses that I forgot about those until I realized I couldn't tell how far I was from shore.  Luckily, I have a good replacement source for glasses.

-          You need a way to bail out the boat (redundancy is good here)