Choosing first Kayak to build.

I am wanting to build 2 kayaks for my wife and myself. I have some whitewater experience and currently we have 11 recreation kayaks that we have been camping out of. We live minutes from the TN river and I think i have narrowed it down to the Cheasapeake or the Shearwater. I am 5'7 180 and she is 5'6 125 ish.... What sizes? 16'? 17'?  We would like to have the ability for a week long trip, but would mostly be used for day trips and overnighters. Wind is often a factor here, and the current rec kayaks are work getting anywhere against the wind/current. Are there better options for us other than the 2 mentioned? Thanks for your input.

27 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Choosing first Kayak to build.

You might consider the Shearwater 14 for your wife and the Shearwater Sport for yourself. I have the Shearwater Sport Sectional and it has plenty of room for camping gear -- and is fast on the water. The shorter length makes these kayaks maneuverable river boats and perhaps a little lighter, too.

We plan on keeping the 11 ft rec boats for the smaller creeks here. The TN river is a mile wide in most places. Speed wise, how does the sport compare to the non sport? We want to be able to cover some miles on the system.