Self taught sailing advice wanted

I'm about to start a Skerry and I'm excited about sailing her, except I don't really know how. I sailed an 8 ft. pram a couple of times when I was a kid, but that's about it. There are no yacht clubs around and I don't know anyone who can teach me. I'm looking for advice on how to teach myself. Can it be done?

22 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Self taught sailing advice wanted

Sailing advice - keep the rudder in back, the mast pointing up and the water outside and you'll be fine :-)

Seriously, I also got my start in an 8-ft pram and when I got into a Skerry for the first time ever it felt like home. After a couple of minutes of getting acquainted we had made friends and it did everything I asked it to.

So, yes, it can definitely be done. The Skerry is a very easy boat to sail, with no surprises. Start out in a light wind and pay attention to what the boat is telling you and you'll be sailing again in a very short time.

I also recommend that you have oars in case the wind fails, a short paddle in case you get stuck in irons and for the first few times try for a muddy, not rocky, bottom in case you run aground. Wear your PFD and get a weather report before going out.

Have fun,

Laszlo

Well, there're always books.  You might start with The Annapolis Book of Seamanship, currently in it's 4th edition, I believe, but an older one might suit just as well.  See if your local library has it and give it a look.  Heck, if my library here in Landlubber City (Columbus, Ohio) has it, it must be fairly ubiquitious.  Mind you, you don't have to read the whole thing at one go, just the sections on basic sailing stuff, especially the pictures and illustrations.  He (John Rousmaniere) made some videos, as well.

.....Michael