Anchor and Sailing Knot Questions

I just finished building my Passagemaker.  If anyone is on the fence about building a CLC kit, you should definately build one!  I am extremely impressed with the quality and completeness of the kit.  Now for my questions:

I am looking for an anchor.  Ideally I would like something that could be stored under the seats and fit through the 6" hatches.  I was looking at folding 3.3lb or 5lb anchors.  They are usually marketed for kayaks and PWCs.  Does anyone have experience with these?  Would either of these be sufficient for having lunch or taking a break from rowing in a current.  I will be rowing/sailing in the bays off Long Island, NY.  I wont be going in the ocean or camping overnight on my Passagemaker.

My second question is what knot should I use to lash the sails to the boom and spars?  I am using short lengths of 3/16 line.  I am new to sailing so the only knot I have learned so far is the bowline.

15 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Anchor and Sailing Knot Questions

If you are new to sailing, I would recommend getting a copy of Chapman's Piloting, Seamanship and Small Boat Handling.  My father gave me a copy when I was thirteen and it's gotten me all the way to seventy without serious mishap on the water.  It's continuously updated and covers rules and regulations, piloting and charts, and practical small boat handling (including knots).  Don't leave shore without reading it.

Cheers,

Dick

I have used a folding grapple anchor attached to a anchor line by a bowline knot for a similar sized boat.  A little chain would help it dig in. Figure a minimum 4 to 1 scope.

I don't know what kind of rig your sail has to suggest a knot. This link however, miight  be helpful once you figure out what kind of knot you're going to use............................. http://www.animatedknots.com/indexboating.php?LogoImage=LogoGrog.png&Website=www.animatedknots.com#ScrollPoint