Looking for recommendations for small block plane & sharpening system

Starting my first strip built kayak and need a few more tools.  I have no experience with planes , but have read it's important to keep them sharp.

And I am assuming a small block plane is what I need. Thanks 

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Looking for recommendations for small block plane & sharpening system

Hi J, Scott, 

j have built a lot of strip plank kayaks. 

the stanley low angle block plane (on sale now at CLC) is, in my view,  the 'gold standard' block plane required for building strip builds (see link below)

https://www.clcboats.com/shop/products/boat-building-supplies-epoxy-fiberglass-plywood/stanley-low-angle-block-plane-12-960.html  

you can get caught up with a lot of other specialized planes.  i have tried, from time to time, expanding beyond this tool, and inevitably come back to it while the others just collect dust.

so if this is your first build, and you want to be a builder vs a tool hound, start with this.   learn to play it like a fiddle....it can do almost everything you will need.

below is my award-winning petrel - and the stanley low angle block plane was the only plane involved.

h

and yes, invest in learning how to keep it sharp and how to adjust it....that helps a lot.

like any tool, there is a learning curve.....but investing in learning the tool is amazing payback.

nice thing is, scrap wood is cheap and easy fodder for learning how to use the plane before chewing up the nice stuff.

h

If you are having problems planning it is usually a dull blade or you are not reading the grain and working with it.

A hint: going diagonally is a method that is beneficial often.