West System 205 vs 206

Hello, I recently ordered my 1st kit, a Chesapeake 17 and it is currently in route to me in Alaska.  However, due to shipping restrictions the MAS epoxy system was not able to be bundled with my kit, I'm on my own to get my epoxy.  Locally, only the West System is available in the realistic quantities I need for my project.  As I'm collecting my materials I'm curious if anyone can offer me some advice between selecting the 205 or 206 hardener?

I know that the 205 is the fast and 206 is the slow so as a novice I'd initially think the 206 would be more my style.  However, when I look at the working temperatures I see that the fast hardener has a lower working temperature than the slow hardener.  In fact, the slow (206) doesn't seem to show a working range much below 60degrees.  My unheated garage will be my workshop for my winter project and while it does stay above freezing because of the mechanical and space heaters I put in there I'd most likely be working in 40 to 60 degrees for the duration of the project.  

So with that said, would the fast hardener (205) be a better choice?  It looks like its range goes as low as 40 degrees.  Also, I'd assume that working at those lower temperatures I'd get more working time as well?  Of course this is all info I'm interpreting by looking online so I'd appreciate any firsthand knowledge.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: West System 205 vs 206

Hi jetescamilla,

you are going to be working at the edge of things...working in the winter takes some thinking and some experimentation.

so the first thing i would like to suggest is that you keep your epoxy heated (by keeping it inside or using a local heat lamp) so that it stays in the high 70's low 80's.  cold epoxy is difficult to mix at low temperatures.