Chester Yawl Hull Repair

I have a 15 ft. Chester Yawl which was kit built by a friend of our family. The builder passed away a couple years ago & his wife gifted it to us. The boat sits on a trailer in our yard & is rarely used so we want to sell it so someone else can enjoy it. Upon uncovering it I discovered that the bottom hull is in need of repair with some delamination of whatever the guy used to cover the planks. He may have used fiberglass cloth bedded with epoxy, I don't know. It's not a huge area & I scraped off the loose material. My question is what is the best way to repair it? Can I use something like West System epoxy rolled onto the bare areas or do I need to glass the bare areas in using fiberglass? Is so, what type? I'm no expert in glass work but I have some experience repairing a fiberglass runabout that I once owned. 

It's a beautiful boat & the topside & interior is in great shape so I don't want to botch this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chester Yawl Hull Repair

"Best way" is pretty subjective given the experience of the viewer and the particular damage to be repaired. If there was fiberglass there that you scraped away, by all means use new cloth when performing repairs is indicated.

BUT if your confidence level attempting some such operation's greater than your experience doing similar, you might best just 'leave it alone' and advertise your gift as "as is". This way you don't risk doing more harm - albeit well-intentioned - than good, and any prospective purchasers don't have reasons to question your skills or materials used.

If you were going to keep and use this yawl you'd be in a better position to attemp the repair, in that you'd be the one living with it and appreciating the success of accomplishment from the undertaking.