any misfits here?

I have been building a sassafras canoe for two years-- I'm going into my third year and I was wondering are there any people here maybe fit into the same category as I do. I have had problems since day one every page in the manual has been blown way out of proportion. Everything is wrong and my canoe, though almost ready for primer, is going to be 'not quite ready for prime time'. It's a little crooked on one end --I think this end will be the bow--and because it's a little crooked, the rails didn't line up exactly right and I had to shave them down. The profile view will be OK, but looking dead on ...it's gonna be a little off. I will paint the inside and the outside with the exception of varnish on the decks & rails. The fiberglass on the bottom is lumpy and bumpy and I can't fix it. I suppose only the fish will notice.  So...Are there others like me on this small island of misfit boat assemblers? Did you guys finish? How did you cope? Cheers!

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: any misfits here?

Sounds like a standard first build to me.  Every home built has its imperfections and nobody will notice but you.  Your boat will be lovely and you will be proud of it.  You get better with each build but they are never perfect.     

Rule 1: Never point out any mistakes.

Rule 2: see rule #1

The "Ten Foot Rule" - If it looks good from ten feet away, it's great.

Remember, you are building a boat not a coffee table. If it floats and is fun then you have done your job. The rest is vanity.

The first build is a learning experience and very few on this forum had previous experience with the technique or products before taking the plunge. Once you get your baby wet and have some adventures any warts will be forgotten and replaced with memories.

One caution though, this can become addictive.