Kayak Security @Glacier Nat Park (or any place really) Overnight

Hey All,
I'm new to kayaking & after a few months am on the home stretch of completing a build of a Chesapeake 17LT kayak--was hoping to finish at the beginning of summer, but oh well.  With that said, I have a hiking trip to Glacier National Park in a couple of weeks.  If my kayak is done by then, I was wondering if it would be advisable to take my kayak.  

I have a permit to stay at a chalet in the park so plan to park at Logan Pass (a big/usually-packed visitor parking lot) on a Fri morning.  Hike to Granite Park Chalet & stay their overnight and return to my car on Sat afternoon.  

If I take my kayak (will transport via Subaru Crosstrek w/ Yakima Sweetroll rack), would my kayak be safe leaving in this type of parking lot overnight?  I've seen security cable locks such as the Lasso.  

I'm just wondering about thoughts.  I definitely wouldn't want my new kayak swiped!  

Best Regards,  Corey

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kayak Security @Glacier Nat Park (or any place really) Overnight

My two cents on the topic is that i don't think homebuilt kayaks make a very attractive target for theft...they are big so not easy to 'run off with', they are hard to sell (if you were stealing to raise cash) and unique (so hard to claim that it's your when it's not).

i have taken my boat on camping trips before and have not locked it and never had a problem.  during the summer, i even leave it on my car top all day at a marina here in washington DC so that i can go kayaking right after work.