Fiberglass Visibility Question

Hey All! 

I'm new to fiberglassing and just laid down the sheet in the cockpit area of a Wood Duck 12. I've got 3 coats of epoxy on it now and it is pretty smooth but I'm very displeased with the cloth weave showing underneath. I read everything I could on what could cause this but I'm worried about proceeding to the exterior glass work until I can determine whether this is my technique or perhaps the cloth I bought (I didn't get it from CLC but it is 4oz "plain weave"). I've attached a link to a photo so you can see what I mean. 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pAN3_tmcJbwa9Kvu4p18kpZFjmaIsbmO/view?usp=sharing

I thought maybe I overworked the epoxy so I tried a test piece on another piece of wood and it looked slightly better but still no where near as good as what I'd find acceptable for an eventual bright finish. The wetted out fiberglass tape over the fillets looks pretty decent, and I did the exact same thing for both so I'm thinking maybe it's a cloth issue. It's like it is staying shimmery depending on the angle you view it. 

Thanks to anyone for any advice at all! 

Brian

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Fiberglass Visibility Question

Doesn't look that bad in your image.

Three coats'll still have texture, the high spots need to be sanded until they're at the same level as the filled low spots. Try not to sand into the glass fibers though but if you do, and not too far, another coat of epoxy's the answer.

Once you've carefully sanded that surface, wipe it down with denatured alcohol & you'll get a good idea what another coat of epoxy will do, minus the high gloss.

Some fiberglass cloths may not bear the same coatings that you get with the stuff CLC includes. Those coatings help 'wet out' the 'glass weave once it's saturated with epoxy. That could account for what you're seeing but without knowing what product you used and where it came from that's just a guess.