Reefing a Jimmy Skiff II

�How would one reef the sailing rig on a Jimmy Skiff II? I didn't notice any reef points on the sail, tho I'm very new to sailing. I'm settling in on the boat I'd like to build, Jimmy looks the part, but I surely don't want to be out in the Puget Sound with too much power.

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Reefing a Jimmy Skiff II

Hey Ed,

Sorry, I have no idea about how to reef a JSII, but I just wanted to ask where you're at?  I'm up on Camano Island, but I was living on Green Lake for several years.  I've got a Passagemaker that I just put a reef in the mainsail and I'm working out how to reef it so the halyard stays in trim.

Chris

Looking at the photos and videos on the CLC Jimmy Skiff II page, it looks like the sail is hoisted on a track with a halyard, with the tack set up hard with a downhaul.  This sort of "leg-o-mutton" sail could be reefed by adding appropriately spaced cringles on the leech and luff with reef points parallel to the foot to gather up the reefed part.  The sprit is then either allowed to run farther forward to allow for the shorter distance between the mast and the reefed clew, or the reefed clew is attached to the sprit further inboard.  I've seen photos of it both ways.

Working craft with this sort of sail often had the sail lashed or laced to the mast with no intention of reefing.  It's a good rig for being able to flatten the sail out as the wind increases, which sort of depowers the sail and allows the gusts to be spilled more readily.  You might notice in some of the photos, where John has her going along in a good breeze with a grin on his face, that the mast, which pretty light and heavily tapered, seems to be bent somewhat, after the fashion of Lasers and other small racing dinghies, which pulls a lot of the "belly" built in along the luff of the sail.