epoxy over stain

Hi can anyone cite any issues with using epoxy over stained cedar?  Thanks

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: epoxy over stain

Hi SteveE914  

I have a lot of experience with epoxy over stained cedar.  I would enumerate the issues to think about below:

1. The main issue to be careful about is you must use a compatible stain – basically a stain that has no oil in it.   The mohawk/behlens brands on the website fit the bill.. https://www.clcboats.com/shop/products/boat-building-supplies-epoxy-fiberglass-plywood/boat-paint-varnish-finishing/mohawk-ultra-penetrating-stain.html.   I have also made my own alcohol based stain that worked just fine by following a recipe I found on the internet
  2. The process of staining can take a bit of practice and planning to get a good result.  CLC has a good overview of the process at this link: https://www.clcboats.com/shoptips/finishing-tips/staining-your-kayak.html  and if you are trying to do things like preserve a line or contrast, a lot of care is needed.  Again, nothing overly complicated….but some practice on scraps can be useful to sort out your technique as well as really thinking many steps ahead. The picture below shows a stained boat with some lines that came out nice but the lines were a lot of extra work.
  3. Dark stains under a hot sun can make for a very hot boat – so hot that the epoxy can start to  bubble and delaminate.    I have seen this problem a number of times with my darker boats..and it was very frustrating.  The solution, however, was pretty simple, do not park a dark stained kayak in direct sunlight for any significant amount of time on a hot summer day, park it in the shade.  Alternatively, use a stain to create a light color.   I did this in the second boat below because I was so frustrated with how hot the boat was becoming in the heat.  It works very well.

Anyway, I hope that answered your question and was helpful.

h