New Builder Questions

Hello,  I am considering building a Chesapeake 17LT.  I have never built a boat before and have the following questions:

• What do folks use for a long work table/bench?  It seems to me that gluing up the sheer clamps would benefit from clamps to hold the pieces stationary.  Working on the floor might work, but one would need some heavy weights to take the place of the clamps.  And, I am not sure my garage floor is all that flat.
  • What do folks do for the seat?  Use the standard seat, spring for the Creature Comfort Seat or?
  • Skeg - I am thinking that I’ll install a skeg even though some of the reviews say the boat tracks really well.  A skeg can help on those strong crosswind days and as the boat trim varies with gear load.  I am thinking the Superior Kayak Skeg kit from Nash boat works.  What do you folks recommend, skeg or no skeg?
  • Foot Braces - Do most of you use the standard foot braces or something else?  And do you mount with holes through the hull?
  • Wires - Do you folks recommend leaving the wires in, or pulling them out?  If pulling, are there some tips to do so?

Thank you!  Mike

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: New Builder Questions

1. I have a collapsible 16-foot long table that I made.

It's 2 pieces of an 8x4 3/4" plywood sheet cut lengthwise into quarters, 2 16-foot 2x4s and 4 folding sawhorses, the plastic kind with the 2" slots on top from any big box DIY store. I put the 2x4s into the slots and screw the plywood sheets onto the 2x4s. When I'm done building it all comes apart, the plywood leans against the wall, the sawhorses fold up and get put away and the 2x4s get put up in a loft.

2. Creature Comfort makes me happy.

3. I personally don't think that the Chessies with their hard chines and moderate rocker need a skeg, but it's your boat so do what you want. I would recommend a retractable if you do go with one.