Skeg or not to skeg?

Hi, I'm building a petrel play here in the UK and I'm wondering what people think about fitting a skeg. On the one hand I know from my limited paddling in plastic sea kayaks and river kayaks that a skeg is sometime useful in windy conditions, but on the other hand its extra stuff to go wrong, a bit more work to fit and some of the purists in my local club maintain a good paddler shouild not need a skeg. I'm fairly new to paddling and I do most of my paddling in Poole harbour, a large open tidal area of water which can get windy at times, and plan on doing some open water paddling next year along the south coast. What do people here think, especially with regards to the petrel play?

Thanks

Pete

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skeg or not to skeg?

i have a petrel play and i would say you definitely want a skeg.

its a 'play boat' and it has a lot of rocker and is very easily spun and maneuvered.....but if you want to go straight and make distance (which it is quite capable of) you will find you will use some of that skeg....even if you are a competent paddler.

i  have some sea kayaks without a skeg but they have a hull with sharper chines ...

go with the skeg

h  

I'll agree with Hspira.  I built the S&G Petrtel Play in 2014 then retrofit a skeg into it a couple of years later when I started paddling more in rough water.  Is a skeg required?  Absolutely not, but there are many situations where it is very helpful.  Nick Schade said it best on his FB page when he said that they give the paddler another level of control.  Other than a little extra weight and expense, the only downside is a little loss of storage capacity in the aft compartment.