Chesapeake 17LT Shear Clamp Question

With a few helpers, I attempted to glue the shear clamps for my Chesapeake 17LT to the side panels last night. While one shear clamp looks to be proud by 1/4" along its entire length, the other seems to have slipped a bit and is only 1/8" proud for several feet (particularly at the stern). 

This is my first build, so I'm wondering....have I shot myself in the foot from the get go? What kind of issues might this cause for me down the road? 

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 17LT Shear Clamp Question

You should be just fine.

The reason that you glue the shear clamps proud is so that you have ample material to plane off when it is time to do the rolling bevels (page 105 of the manual).  The bevel is more pronounced in the center of the boat and really flattens out as you move towards the stern.  Since the angle is less on the stern, you don't need as much material so 1/8" should be fine.  Just make sure that you are a little less aggressive with trhe plane when you get to that area.

The only other concern comes on page 78-79 of the manual when you are leveling the hull.  If the shear clamp on one side is much higher that on the other, you will have to account for the difference so that you don't build twist into the hull.  This is not a huge concern because you are not building the space shuttle here, and 1/8" twist may not even be noticable.

Thank you! That alleviates a lot of concern!