Kit build or scratch from plans?

Hi all,

I am considering building the Sassafrass 16 canoe.  I am trying to decide between buying the kit or building from scratch.  I have experience with woodworking tools and some power tools.   I have some fiberglassing experience. 

I have built a few wooden surboards from plans.  I enjoy working from scratch because I feel you get to know what your building better. 

I guess my question is- how difficult is it to cut okoume ply, and sapele decks, mahogany outwales, etc?

Concerns are also for joinery difficulty...what kind of joints would i use for binding the panels together?  Looks like the kit is using CNC puzzle piece joinery.

Thanks for your opinions and advice!

David in NJ

13 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kit build or scratch from plans?

If you've built surfboards from plans/scratch, you got the skill to build the Sassafrass from  plans/scratch.

Okoume is very easy to cut with a sharp saw. I prefer a Japanese razor saw. Sapele is only slightly more difficult because it's somewhat more brittle and will splinter unless the saw is really sharp. A good way of handling this is to cut the piece a bit large and trim it with a sharp block plane. A sharp saw will also work for mahogany. Note a common theme?

Most plans builders use scarph joints. But if you still want that puzzle joint look without investing in the equipment, CLC will sell you sheets of plywood with finger joints cut into the ends.

Have fun, it's a real beautiful boat,

Laszlo

While I get the satisfaction of building from plans, personally I like knowing the pieces are dead-on, CNC-precise and when I'm trying to get things to line up.

Also, if I want to spend X extra hours on the build, I think the payoff is better spending that time on the finishing end rather than the panel cutting end.

Just my opinion