Chester Yawl

I've been enjoying my peeler skiff now for several years and get compliments on her wherever I go; the brightwork on her is a real head turner.  She performs like a champ and has never disappointed me in the slightest.  I've been intrigued by the Chester Yawl, her lines are so classically beautiful; she looks like she was transported from the early 1900's.  I've been thinking of taking a crack at building her and would like to hear from some of you builders who have already completed the project.  Specifically, I'd like to hear about how she handles, what type of waters she's best suited for and how challenging the build was.

Thanks so much!

art

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chester Yawl

I built a CY in 2020-2021 and launched it late last year, so it has seen only little use so far. My impression is that it rows easily and turns nicely.

Building has been a real pleasure. Here are what I recall as "special" about my build process:

CA glue helps when aligning all the panels at the bow. So when working from the bottom up, you can secure your gains step by step. Or break loose when you discover a mistake.

Also, glassing the aft outside hull, where you cover three panels each side with fiberglass, has been tricky. I had many air bubbles in the joints. (This area, picture by CLC):

I used all the 60 clamps I own for installing a single outwale... 

I sanded mostly by hand...

That's it. So I'd call it moderately challenging. With you experience from building the Peeler, it should be quite enjoyable.

Johannes

I built my CY (2007) kit without alignment tabs, scarf joints/no puzzle joints and gains had to be cut in bow planks. She is absolutely beautiful and is adream to row. I added the scuppered inwales and matching breasthooks, and put three row stations (mid for solo rowing and a stern/bow station for tandem rowing. I also installed the Piantedosi row seat wing with the long oars.