Mill Creek 16.5 okay for open bay?

MI am considering a Mill Creek 16.5, for some lakes and rivers here and also Isle ROyale, (www.nps.gov/isro) where I work as a park ranger. Then I would probably do some camping at the many docks on the island. My question is how the 16.5 would handle in gentlele swells/roller that i might get in Lake Superior.  I also live on a small lake behind myhouse so I like the 16.5 because I can take my doggie and maybe a friend, and could add a sail.  THe weight is something I could handle by meself compared to the SKerry, which I really like.

My other choice would the the wood duck 14 or maybe the double. This might be a little more weather friendly but if the weather changed I would head to beach as quickly as possbile.

All opeions welcome and any people with actual experience in open bays or ocean will be appreciated.

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Mill Creek 16.5 okay for open bay?

As usual with this kind of question, the answer is - depends. It's all up to the weather and the paddler's skill and experience. I realize what an unsatisfying answer that is.

Remember, these are wooden boats so they'll float fine, even full of water. The issue is keeping the occupant safe. Up where you're talking about I would imagine that hypothermia is probably a year-round problen, right?

Have you taken out a canoe in the conditions that you expect to be paddling in? Was it fun or scary? That should give you a hint as to whether you;re ready to go out with an MC16 or large Wood Duck.

Laszlo

I can't speak to the Mill Creek, but the Skerry rows extremely well.  It's not a bad sailboat either.  It has the same rated payload as the MC16.5, but being more open, you can put pretty bulky things like a cooler in it that might be hard to fit in the MC.  Add tiedowns to the build...I'm adding them after the fact.