So many questions...

Hello all,

I have just received my Kaholo kit and I am excited but am approaching the project with trepidation as I am a complete novice to boat building, I would love to think it is genetic since there are boat builders in my past family but....

I will be reading all of the posts I can find and have already skimmed through the directions once. I think sometimes I really need to remind myself of the K.I.S.S. principle. But here are some of my questions to start so I cam properly plan.

First any big suggestions to start?  Not little details I will get to those, I am planning and laying this whole process out right now.

Next, I am thinking an attachment point for an anchor (small obviously) might be really nice.  What, how and where would you all recommend this being done?  A backing plate it probably really important at this location. Are there better or nicer designs for a leash attachment than a grommet through a piece of strapping? Thinking that a leash and anchor might be on at least one common tie down point.

Finally, I am hoping to paint some designs on the boat when should this be done? Before or after glassing? Having never done the finish work on a boat and I paint parts with decorative design do I also varnish over the paint as well?  The concept of varnishing over the epoxied glass surprised me so I am trying to understand the integrity and purpose behind all the layers of material.

Thank you all in advance I am sure there will be more questions!

Josh

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: So many questions...