First Time Builder - Gaps between Panels?

Hi -- I'm a first time builder working my way thru a Shearwater Sport.

I think at times some of the difficulty for first time builders (at least for me) is not knowing how fussy to be.

I have the hull stitched together and all is well with that - no gaps between any panels. But on the deck, it seems I may not have beveled quite enough and there is a "small" -- I mean "very small" gap in some places -- where the back of the deck is butting the back of the sheer panel.  This gap is very small in that you can catch your fingernail on it it, but cannot see light through it.  I do have a couple small spots around the cockpit hole where you can actually see a tiny bit of light but I would estimate the gap in those spots to be less than 1/16th.  In the aforementioned spots along the deck/ shear panel line the "gap" would be 1/32 or less.

My question is two fold -- how tight should the panels be?  And if they need to be tighter than I descibe -- any tricks to fix this without taking all the stitches out and going over the bevels over with a block plane?

Thanks again -- without this forum I'd be shooting in the dark.

Dave.

2 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: First Time Builder - Gaps between Panels?

Hi Dave and welcome to kayak building!  The SWS was my first kayak too several years back.  We have many wonderful miles behind us, and I hope you'll enjoy yours just as much.