Lug rig questions

I'm new to sailing and am looking for advice on how to get the best out of my lugsail for my Northeaster Dory.

1. Is anyone using parrel beads at masthead or some other means of keeping the yard against the mast? I'm trying to figure out whether it would help or is just a complexity that is not worth the bother. In wind below 10 mph the stock set up seems fine, but when I experienced wind gusts of 25+ mph the yard pulls away from the mast. (Alternatively I'm wondering if my downhaul not tight enough ...)
  2. I have a similar question about the boom. I am thinking of rigging a low stretch line which would attach close to the down haul, pass over the mast so as to keep the boom fairly close but able to move freely,  run through a hole near the end of the boom and lead back to a jamb cleat. This would allow me to adjust tension on the fly and release easily for transport.  I jury-rigged something similar with doubled paracord the last time I was out and was pleased with the results.​

Thanks for any advice and the lessons of your experience,

Dederik 

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Lug rig questions

Hi Dederik. Don't know if you've seen this article but heard it recommended as the definitive guide on tuning lug rigs: https://www.storerboatplans.com/tuning/lug-rig-setup/everything-lug-rig-and-lug-sail/