Stitching Bottom & Side Hull Panels For Chesapeake17LT

Greetings All.  I am a 1st-time/novice builder & am working on a Chesapeake17LT kit.  I have to admit, after watching the video & reading the manual a few times, I was a bit cocky and thought this would be no problem, but epoxying the hull panel puzzle joints was humbling & made me immediatley gun shy!  (I'll spare you photos of that mess...did manage to clean it up a little better post-sanding.)  After a period of mourning (ha!), I pressed on.  I'm now at the point of stitching the bottom panels onto the side panels for the hull.  I'm currently in a PAUSE state.

I made sure I had an aligned bow, and began to slowly stitch down the boat.  1/4 of the way down, I looked back at the bow and saw that the Bottom Panels were sticking out about 1/16 - 1/8" (the video shows this happen & mention it could be sanded smooth later).  I thought since I was only a 1/4 down the boat, I would make adjustments to realign the bottom to side panels & I did (realigned bow) and then continued on.

BUT...Here's My Problem

As I was walking around the boat to do 5-stitches on the other side, the stern caught my attention.  Back here the stern "tip" of the bottom panels is sticking out on the order of 1/2"! (pic & wider angle pic)

This is where I have paused.  I'm wondering what's the best plan forward:

• Continue & remove the excess at stern (via Japanese Saw?)
  • Start over & readjust Bottom Panels to balance overhang at bow & stern, and then remove excess material from bow & stern.
  • What other option?

Thank you in advance for advice, consoling, etc.  
Best,

Corey

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Stitching Bottom & Side Hull Panels For Chesapeake17LT