Choosing the right boat

I am doing some initial research and trying to decide whether I should try and build a boat, and narrow down which kit would be the best choice for my circumstances.  There is a huge range!

I have never built a boat before, have done some basic woodworking but nothing very significant.  I have never used or owned a router, but have sawed, nailed and glued a few bits and pieces.  I’ve used epoxy, but only for repairing small fairings, and nothing like the scale of work required to build a kit.

I am a recreational rower, but of the larger fixed seat wooden boat with several rowers in the coastal tradition rather than light sliding seat.  I have also done a very small amount of helping to sail one of these.

I am now at the stage where to complement this activity in the larger boats, which is very dependant on being able to get crew together, I would like to have my own boat which I can handle on my own to allow solo outings.

The primary mission is rowing, both for quick rows around he harbour, and also for longer day trips that would cover a few miles and a few hours.  But I would also like to have the option of playing with a sailing rig and educating myself a little more to build on my meagre skills.  I do not expect to be out in rough weather, but I do not want to be worried about power boat wakes or being caught out if it gets a little bit choppy or windy either, so a reasonable amount of seaworthiness is a must.

At first I was looking at rowing designs like the expedition wherry, but am now more inclined to the row/sail combination, and the two I find myself looking at the most are the Jimmy Skiff II and the Tenderly.

Am I on the right track given my background and the mission I have outlined?  Any feedback would be gratefully received.  In particular which of these two is the most capable and best suited to performing well on long rows, and beig safe and easy to develop some sailing skills.