Preparation and Trial Build?

Folks,

I am building a C17LT from plans. I have no experience with woodwork or epoxy. (I realise that kit may have been more prudent approach ...)

I was thinking of practicing on some cheap 4mm marine ply. ie transferring and cutting out the parts, then creating the hull up to the stitching stage. 

Does this seem unnecessary? Should I just get stuck into the job on some better quality marine ply and actually build the real kayak.

I also had an alternative  suggestion from to practice some of the elements on ply like scarfing and filleting. This seems like a good idea.

Appreciate any feedback and guidance

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Preparation and Trial Build?

Cheap ply will not cut, bend, plane like the good stuff.  Maybe get one sheet of cheap stuff and practice cutting the scarfs.  Rip it into 1' wide panels then scarf them and make long boards. The only thing is don't expect cheap ply to plane very well.  You'll have to use a grinder or sander on the scarf tapers.  If they come out the same size and straight, do it for real. And you'll have some long battens you can use for laying out fair curves, transferring lines, etc.  The filleting you can do in several small stages on the real deal.  Do one small stretch and see what goes wrong so you can do it better next time.  Mostly it's reducing the amount of sanding and grinding by being neat, cleaning up edges, smoothing while green.  I still mess it up on my 3rd kit.  That's what sandpaper is for.  Buy the 80 grit in 50 or 100 sheet boxes and change it all the time. Besides, in a kayak, they can't see most of the fillets anyway!  So it winds up a pound or two heavier.  Eat fewer burritos before paddling!