Adding deck hatches at a later date on 16LT

Hi all,

Firstly, thank you to everyone for the wealth of knowledge this forum is, it has saved my build more times than I can count!

I'm a first time builder (and forum poster) and I'm currently in the finishing stages on my Chesapeake 16LT, built from plans. It's definitely going to be a "10' boat" in quality and is never going to win any boat building prizes, but I've really enjoyed the build process and can't wait to use it.

At the point of adding the deck hatches I haven't been able to decide if I will do the traditional style or flush mounted. As you can well imagine I am eager to get the boat varnished and take it for it's first paddles (I'm in New Zealand so summer is picking up here). So, I was wondering if there is any issue with using the boat without any deck hatches for a couple of weeks before it returns to the sawhorses for some additional hatch surgery once I have decided! I have read that others recommend not using the boat without hatches as there is no way for moisture to be dried from the fore and aft compartments and also potential issues with thermal expansion. If it is only going to be for a couple of weeks will I likely experience any issues with these? and are there any signs I should look out for that there is an issue?

Cheers

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Adding deck hatches at a later date on 16LT

Not going to be a problem at all. The thermal expansion problem can be taken care of by drilling a small (2mm) hole in the top of the bulkheads. 

George K.

It's an excellent idea to take your boat out for a period of sea trials before finalizing it. Not only is it a lot of fun, but just think of how terrible it would be to have to either change something after you've done all the sanding, varnishing and painting, or to have to use your boat when it's not exactly the way you want it.