Newbie epoxy mistake

So this happened: https://www.epoxyworks.com/index.php/controlling-exotherm/

I am on my first project (Skerry), and a complete newbie to every aspect of this project. I mixed 2 oz. of epoxy to glue together the bottom panels, and that worked fine.

Then, I mixed 12 oz. for the six side panels. The first two panels were fine. I left for a moment, came back to start on the next panel and found that the epoxy had mostly hardened into a large hockey puck (with some liquid at the edges of the container), and the container was VERY hot. It got too hot to even touch. (I took it outside and dumped ice in it.)

I called support and they told me: yeah, that happens. Use smaller batches, or pour the epoxy into a pan, or put the container in a bucket of ice water.

Hey, CLC guys: The instructions should mention this in the section on working with epoxy.

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Newbie epoxy mistake

From CLC's Tips for Boatbuilders (aka Shop Tips), available through the link at the top of every page on this website, under the section labeled Working with Epoxy and Fiberglass, in the section titled Epoxy Basics: