Rigging proper NE Dory

Being a sailing novice, I have a few questions about rigging the sails.  

How do I go about lashing the mainsheet blocks so they don't slide around the boom?  Can I tie them to the outhaul and a grommet?  Will a simple overhand knot do the trick?

How do I go about properly stowing the sail?  Is it as simple as folding it up or rolling it?

When it come to reefing, do I move the outhauls up to the grommets and tie overhand knots around the reef?

Thanks for sticking with me! 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Rigging proper NE Dory

The sheave on the aft end of the boom can be lashed to the eyehole. The one toward the middle does tend to slide around and needs frequent adjustment. I've got it hung from a lashing through a grommet, but more importantly I have a second lashing a bit further up the boom. If I don't do that the force on the grommet distorts the shape of the sail.

I'm discovering that it's best to lash the sail snugly to the yard to remove some little lateral creases in the sail. That's less important on the boom. I keep the outhauls very tight and snugged up to the boom and yard with additional lashings.

You can use a square knot for these lashings, but you should backup the knot with overhand bends on each end. (In many cases the square knot can loosen if not backedup.) A better option is to create a loop around the yard with double overhand bends. You can then adjust this loop as necessary to make it tighter or looser.

There may be better ways to do all this, but so far it seems to work for me.