Recommended kit for first build/novice sailor?

I'm trying to select a boat for my first build but I'm having a hard time deciding partially because I'm a very novice sailor and don't exactly know the ups and downs to different sail rigs and because I don't want to bite off a bigger project than I can handle.  Ideally I'd like a boat big enough to handle my family of 4 (me plus wife and 2 kids 9 and 6) with the predominant use being for sailing over rowing.  I'm the most drawn to the PocketShip but I'm afraid I'll be in over my head on the woodworking side of things since this would be my first build.  So, I'm leaning towards something smaller/less expensive/easier to build that would allow me to learn more about sailing before sizing things up. I'm currently considering the NE Dory, Jimmy Skiff, Passagemaker Standard and Skerry as I think they would meet my passenger goals if I'm not mistaken.  I'm also a bit tempted to go with the Eastport Pram knowing it is smaller than I would like but with the thought I could use it as a dinghy for a larger boat in the future. Can anybody help direct me towards one of these (or even something I didn't list) in regards to my goals?  Thanks!

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Recommended kit for first build/novice sailor?

Ambassador,

The Jimmy Skiff and the Skerry both have a capacity of 450 lbs. The Eastport Pram, 375 lbs and the Passagemaker Dinghy, 650 lbs. The NE Dory has a payload of 800 lbs. Those are the maximum safe loads including all the gear and saftety equipment you'll need to carry. Last time I checked, children grow pretty fast as well. The Jimmy Skiff is probably the simplest build for a beginner, but the other designs have their advantages too. The boat you actually get built will be more fun for you and your family than the one that overwhelmed you and sits, uncompleted, under a tarp.