First Boat Recommendation

Hi, I'm a teacher in NC and summer break is fast approaching and I have the itch to try my hand at building a wooden kayak over my break. This would be my first major wood project and first boat build. I would like recommendations of which kit is the simplest for a beginner to start with?

I am 5'-11" and weigh about 180. I have been considering a wood duck 12.  I would like a boat that would provide the most versatility for my as well. I'd like to be able to take it to the lake or river nearby as well as possibly take to the outer banks to kayak and camp some. 

Thanks for your advice!

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: First Boat Recommendation

Hi & welcome...

my first boat was a wood duck 12, and it all went great -- this forum and clc's articles will tell you everything you need to know. My second boat was a shearwater sport, and honestly I think that one went together even easier ... But of course I had the experience from the wood duck under my belt, so maybe it was all in my head. Also, along the way of the shearwater build I came to realize that the instruction manual for the wood duck was a bit better -- more details, and it walked you though some steps that the shearwater instructions seemed to gloss over, presumably thinking the builder was a bit more experienced. 

Either boat,I think, would be a great choice for you. If you do go with a wood duck, search this forum to read up on the little issue that many of us had when it came to tying the transom together. It's nothing major, but it'd be good to know/anticipate the issue before you get to that step. 

And enjoy the build!