Considering a Skerry.

Hello all, I am a newcomer on this forum and would like some advice. I have had some sailing/racing experience on a hobiecat katamaran, and have built a fishing kayak which I sail with outriggers and a leg-o-mutton sprit, which handles 15+ winds quite well up to speeds of about 7kts, but can be a wet ride at times. I am in the early stages of considering building a sailboat, and the Skerry has alot of appeal. I don't have much room in my garage but a small light boat like the skerry would be accommodated nicely.

I love fishing and sailing, and have done some multi-day touring in my kayak. I would like something that can accommodate 2, and manage trips on large lakes or to island destinations in mildish conditions, but won't become unmanageable in an unexpected blow.

I live near the coast in Adelaide, South Australia. The gulf waters here are reasonably sheltered but because of the long fetch in a sou' westerly, the waves can be up to 1.5 metres in a 15-20kt wind. I would like a boat which can handle up to 20 kts with relative safety and stay dry-ish.

Thanks all.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Considering a Skerry.

Hi,

I think the skerry may fit what you want. I haven't had lots of opportunities to sail in high winds (US midAtlantic region is fairly calm in the Summer) but did get pummeled once at the shore with probably ~15-20+ knt winds.  I spent several hours on the water and with a scandalized sail (actually I removed the sprit) the boat was quite manageable and dry.  

Christine de Merchant (http://www.christinedemerchant.com/skerry.html) has had a lot more experience in the high winds and she also considers the Skerry to be a dry boat.

Hope this helps your choice.

Mihai

RE: Considering a Skerry. --Compare To Dory?

Jonathon,