Skip fiberglass on coaming

I'm in final stages of completing a West River 180.  The instructions and The New Kayak shop book basically say ( I'm paraphrasing from memory)  if you abuse are are very hard on your equipment, then fiberglass the coaming, otherwise, give it two coats of epoxy.

I don't see myself in that 'very tough on equipment' category, so when I finish trimming/sanding the coaming tonight, I think I'm going to do the epoxy and call it good.  Prepare for varnish.

Thoughts from those more experienced?  ( this is my first build and first true sea kayak)

Does EVERYONE fiberglass the coaming, or has anyone not done that and regretted it?

Also tonight I plan to drill oversize holes for my bungie rigging on deck, and fill those holes with thickened epoxy.  Then after varnish, I will drill into that epoxy to mount my rigging.  That's a good plan, right?

Thanks for your advice!

DH

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skip fiberglass on coaming

You have the drill-fill-drill right.

RE fiberglassing the coaming.  I did not on my first boat.  After 5 years the paint / varnish wore off and some of the wood got a bit discolored.  Since I had done a red stripe along the sheer and painted the coaming to match it does not really matter as long as I get my act together and paint it before it starts to rot.

On my new boat I did fiberglass the coaming. I think there is a bit under shop tips about this.  if not guillmont kayaks has video's of Nick doing it.

If you are really wanting to get on the water, skip the varnish for a little while but seal the coaming.  In the long run you will be better off.

PS. For me it has not been a strength issue and I pick up the boat by the coaming all the time.  It's for long term appearance.

My opinion, I'm sure others will chime in.