Need advise on reinforce the cockpit combing with carbon fiber cloth

Hi all,

the combing on my fiberglass kayak has developed superficial "stretch marks" on the gelcoat that were created by me lifting on combing. The underlying fiberglass is not affected.

I want to wrap the entire combing with carbon fiber cloth to increase the strength, but I am worry about the flex on the combing when I lift the boat, is there any epoxy/resin that's better suited for my application?

I have never used carbon fiber cloth before so any advice on how to make a perfect overlay would be appreciated!!

1 reply:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Need advise on reinforce the cockpit combing with carbon fiber cloth

Advice to make a perfect repair, huh? Not sure that's possible, but here's a point in the right direction...

First the surface needs to be aggressively abraded, 36 grit is not too course. If you sanded away the gelcoat that would ideal. This will probably reveal some pinholes, they shouldn't be a problem.

You'll need to use bias-cut cloth to conform to the coaming shape. This can be biax tape (doesn't have the sexy carbon weave look) or diagonal strips cut from regular woven cloth- plain weave or twill. You'll have a lot of waste with the cloth, otherwise known as opportunities to further play with the carbon. Allow at least a couple inches of extra strip width when cutting your diagonal pieces, and consider applying a strip of masking tape to your cut line and cutting through the middle to constrain the loose edge.

Start by wetting the repair area with straight epoxy. It's nice if it has set up for about an hour so it's a little sticky by the time you start to apply the cloth. Use a thickener to make a paste to fill any pinholes with the dregs of this batch of epoxy.