Rhode Runner in Maine

Hi All,

I am considering building a Rhode Runner to use in and around Boothbay Harbor, ME. Does anyone on this forum have experience in similar waters? 

Thanks very much, Tom

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Rhode Runner in Maine

I've never spent time around Boothbay Harbor (on the water, anyway, although I have passed thru on land). I have frequented Long Island Sound, Fisher's Island Sound, Block Island Sound and vicinity up to Newport, RI.  And I have been operating my Rhode Runner for 2 years now on inland lakes, where the biggest waves have been created by those (dang!) wakeboard boats. So my boat has never seen waves worth mentioning.

In the areas I mention, on most days, with an eye out for weather, I'd consider the RR a good, safe boat.  That's saying in seas up to about 3 ft..  But that also means I've seen many days on these waters where I wouldn't have wanted to be out in a RR.  It is a small, light boat and will be tossed about in larger waves, but does have a nice "V" bow entry, thus any slapping is minimized when taking things bow-on.  The one thing it doesn't have is a wet-well, double transom. A double, wet-well transom allows draining of that area when water comes over the stern. Water over the stern in the RR does have a contained place to go in the bilge under the back deck-board, but even if you build a plug drain hole in the transom (I did) there is still only one plug back there, and you can only open that to drain the boat if running at speed - something I've never had to do, as I've never had anything other than the most minor spray enter the boat.  The boat does have good, built in floatation, if catastrophe happens.