Heaving-to in a Skerry

I have never even tried to heave my Skerry to--considering it is a catboat I don't think it's possible.  It occurred to me there might be a way I don't know about though.  Can anyone enlighten me on this?

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Heaving-to in a Skerry

I have no first hand knowledge of heaving to in a catboat, but I would try blowing the mainsheet on a close reach, let her stall out, then lash the tiller over so that the rudder is hard to weather.  My thinking is that the windage on the freeboard plus any drag on the sail will cancel out the rudder.

I have no experience with a Skerry but plenty on a catboat. Raising the center board is important and when the main sheet is let out and all forward speed is lost lashing the tiller loosely down wind will result in a nice steady platform.

Tiller to leeward, sheet slighty started (eased), which I think is another way of saying what Cap'n Skully said above.  Play with those two variables until she lies quietly (drifting slowly across and down wind) with her head maybe 5 points off the wind.  You might need to pull the daggerboard up some, as well.  Every boat is a bit different.  Works to some extent in a catboat (I have one of those, as well as lug-rigged Passagemekar), if the wind ain't too gusty and shifty, but not as well as it does in a sloop with a jib to back.

Probably works better in a heavier boat than a light one.  You'll want to keep a sharp eye on her, so she don't tack herself and then immediately gybe, which could be troublesome if there is much weight to the wind.