Interlux Pre-Kote over Brightsides?

I purchased a used Wherry and the previous owner used Interlux Brightsides white to paint the outside hull, however it seems to be pretty thin and I do not believe that he used Pre-Kote before painting 2 or maybe 3 coats of the Brightside.  I would like to sand the hull with 220 grit, clean thoroughly with a solvent such as 216 thinner, and then apply 2 coats of Pre-Kote followed by 2 coats of Brightsides. Do I need to remove all the existing Brightsides before using Pre-Kote or is preparing the surface by sanding with 220 grit sufficient?  It seems like it would take an extreme effort to sand off all the existing Brightsides.  I'm new to the CLC Forum, love my Wherry and appreciate the opportunity to exchange ideas with everyone.  Thanks. 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Interlux Pre-Kote over Brightsides?

I really appreciate the fact that you have bought this wherry and you want to fix it up and make it your own. I worry, however, that if you try to sand all the bottom paint off, it will be very hard not to sand right through the resin and into the fiberglass. Then you've got a whole new set of issues.

I would lightly sand your current paint and repaint. I'm not sure you need Pre-Kote over the existing paint, but it will probably help achieving a smooth finish and it probably won't hurt anything.

Interlux has an "Ask The Expert" section on their web site and it might be worth your time to send them this question. I asked them a question a few months ago and they got right back to me.