West System Six-10 Epoxy

Yes, you can tell I'm new at this...I have lots of questions.  Has anyone used this epoxy?  I am going to be obsessed with finishing this boat in 4-months, but want it to be nice and neat.  I like the fact that Six-10 is applied like caulk and it looks like a good solution for fillets and hard to reach areas.  I am interested in trying it.

When reading their site, it says:

"Completely compatible with all other WEST SYSTEM products, Six10 can be used on top of or underneath any 105 Resin-based epoxy, whether cured or uncured".

Since I'm new at this, I don't know a 105 Resin-based epoxy from any other.  Can someone tell me if it is compatible with the MAS that is coming with my kit?  BTW, I'm not a total Newb, I have done some woodwork before, but have only used yellow wood glue.

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: West System Six-10 Epoxy

I went through your delema  and unfortunately I can not answer you question. West System  is available locally here but I was told that yes the blush can be a factor, you may as a resident of this area be charged an additional fee for a hazardous waste classification product, and the materials with tax were more money than the MAS shipped from CLC. I sent for the MAS and glass from CLC today.

jeffh - Let me address your questions about epoxy in general then talk about Six10 in particular. Epoxy formulations (without being specific to any manufacturer) that cure at room temperature are basically blends of bisA on the resin side and amines on the hardener side. Follow this link if you care to learn a bit about the chemistry:

http://www.pslc.ws/macrog/index.htm