CLC sail rig on MC 13 sail size?

Going to be ordering the CLC sailrig to be put on my Mill Creek 13

Any input on the sail size. The 70sq' is out as I am a novice sailor but is there much to gain or lose with the 55' over the 40'. I'll be questioning CLC on this before I order but any experience or input will be helpful also. Thanks PP

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: CLC sail rig on MC 13 sail size?

I have not built the sailrig but bought the plans and it is likely that I will build it in the future.  I am also an avid sailor for what that is worth.

Certainly your sailing experience level is important but so are the conditions where you intend to use the rig.  If you are in a windy location like Chicago or San Francisco, I would go smaller rather than larger.  If you will use it inland where there is less wind, then go larger.

Another consideration is reefing.  You can reef the 70 sqft sail down to 40 sqft but you can't ever make the smaller sail larger.  Not sure if reef points are standard on the sails but they are easily added by any sailmaker. 

Another consideration is the rudder.  Everything that I have read, including some written by JC Harris, indicates that a kayak rudder system is insufficient for the sailrig, almost regardless of sail size.  The sail rig has optional rudder kits, either foot or tiller controlled.  I strongly suggest one of those. 

Looking forward to pictures when you get it on the water.   

Thanks Mark. I'm near the ocean in Delaware so we have our share of wind but calmer in the bays. Good point though. 
Not sure on reef points but also I'm seeing mast height on 55 is 3 ft greater than 40

so question on stress on the hull and overall stability? Is it worth it for what i might gain.  Leaning towards the 40 not looking to win any races. PP

Structurally, installation of the 40 ft^2 and 55ft^2 sails are identical except for the longer mast.  The 70 ft^2 sail requires more structure/work.