Jimmy Skiff II

CLC has a new YouTube video out about the Jimmy Skiff II. The new design makes it a very promising adventure boat -- nice to row, nice to sail, motor-capable, sleep-aboard. I still prefer the appearance of the Northeaster Dory or the Skerry, but I can easily see myself being convinced that the Jimmy Skiff II is the more capable all-arounder. Tell me what you think.

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Jimmy Skiff II

Thanks for sharing the link.  I think it's probably one of the best "bang for your buck" boats in CLC's stable.  It's also probably one of the easiest boats to build for people contemplating their first build.  Being able to do three things well is quite an accomplishment.

With that being said, I'm an old-school sailor/semi-professional woodworker looking for a certain aesthetic in any boat that I'm going to take 100-200 hours to build, so this just isn't the boat for me. 

I think that it's definitely a boat that a parent can build for their kids.  The parent can tag along or not on outings.  The kids can take the boat out and the parent knows it's going to be safe.  That's priceless. 

It's a great boat for a youngster to build with adult supervision or by themselves if they've been checked out in the shop.  This could definitely be a "gateway boat" for young sailors, launching them into a lifelong hobby/addiction.

A large part of the value is that I can see this boat going camp-cruising among the islands on a three-day weekend, then the next weekend it can hit a local lake for some fishing.  Dad could also take Mom rowing for date night (or a teenager trying to impress a young lady), so there's something there for everyone.

With a boat like this, the possibilities are endless and a very fun and economical project.