stability on Chesapeake 17 kayak

I have a Chesapeake 17 kayak.  I am 6'2" 220 lbs.  The finished boat looks great.  I have installed knee braces but still feel somewhat unstabile. The seat back is less than supportive.  What additional tweeks and fits can I make to improve stability and comfort?   Thanks

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: stability on Chesapeake 17 kayak

I'm in the same boat, so to speak. I'm 6'0 and 190, and I've built a Petrel. I'm new to this style of kayak...I finished it in late August. I don't know if you're an experienced paddler, but I'm told I'll feel more stable after I spend more time in my kayak. So it's me, not the kayak. 

Every time I go out, I feel unstable at first and then settle in. I'm told by my experienced paddler friends that I'll have that feeling for a couple more months. I've joined a group that paddle off the coast of Southern California most Sundays, and so I've been getting used to rougher waters. A few times, I've just paddled around marinas and I'm feeling more and more confident as I hit wakes and wind waves. I've yet to capsize unintentionlly, but I've had a few close calls. I'm learning to roll.

I've just finished yet another retrofit of my cockpit, this time to change the padding on the side of the cockpit and change how the back band is suspended.  I've seen some pretty neat custom back rest setups where people have built back supports using a combination of plywood and/or closed-cell foam. I'll try that if my latest back-band set up doesn't work. I've also read, however, that the back band is there to keep you from sliding around and not for support as it is in a sit-on-top. Not sure. Learning. I definitely need to lean back for rolling and whatever support I have has to fit in and under the spray skirt, so whatever setup I have needs to accomodate that.

Cheers