Epoxy vs. Vinylester

I have wondered about this for years... why not use an epoxy vinylester that has superior physicals to the typical epoxy? Here's an example:

West 105/207 Vinylester

Tensile 6748psi 12500psi

Tensile elongation 3.8% 3-4%

Tensile modulus 4.4EX05 5.5EX05

Flexural 11324psi 19000psi

Flexural modulus 4.12EX05 5.5EX05

HDT   F 117 300

These are some of the corresponding numbers that I could find. Help. 

16 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Epoxy vs. Vinylester

I don't know where you got those numbers---if that's all there is to it, I think we'd be reading about vinylester F-22 fighter jets.  As long as I've been building boats as a professional---since 1991 or so---it's never been in dispute that epoxy is stronger than vinylester.  I can't find a citation in an engineering manual to refute that.

Here's an excellent start to read up on the differences:  http://www.netcomposites.com/Education.asp?sequence=7

Vinylester is designed to be used in tightly controlled manufacturing settings.  It's thinned with liquid styrene, so it's horribly toxic to be around. (It's usually "infused"---an enormously esoteric factory process---rather than rolled on by hand, to contain the VOC's.)  The cure is usually designed to be air-inhibited, making it REALLY hard to use outside of a closed mold.  (If you're not sure what THAT is, you don't want to try to use the stuff in a small shop setting.)  The main advantage of vinylester is that it's stronger than polyester resin, but cheaper than epoxy. Perfect for middling-to-higher quality production fiberglass boats being popped out of molds on an assembly line.