Do Spars Need Epoxy?

I started my Skerry last summer and she is almost complete (seems like I've been saying that for about six months now; but then spring has finally sprung)  I really want to launch her by early summer.  We still have to sand the final epoxy coat on the interior bright finish and the exterior hull is completed with several coats of paint.  After reading numerous posts about orange peels, dust and other wooden boat finishing obscenities, that in the end, the beauty is in the eye of the beholder.   At this point, I just wnat to finish her and sail her.  Final epoxy sanding will be much easier on me now because after obsessing over the imperfections, folks who view her in the garage tell me she's already a beauty and why don't I launch her yet.  Well, the final sanding and varnish of the interior hull will be done before that.  So, a long winded question:  Just how necessary is it to epoxy the spars?  Seems to me that several coats of varnish and sanding should do them just fine and I'm wondering what the consensus is out there.  Epoxy is just too finicky.  Pls advise.  Thanks folks,   bob h.

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Do Spars Need Epoxy?

Bob,

Just varnish is fine as long as you put on enough coats, make sure that you put them away dry and regularly inspect them for incipient rot. Epoxy undeneath is less long-term maintenance.

As far as finickiness, just roll and tip 3 to 5 coats of epoxy and sand the final one to 220. That will get rid of bubbles, orange peel, etc. and give you a nice smooth surface for the varnish. It sounds like you may be obsessing before actually doing (that happens to everyone). Once you've done it, you'll see how easy it actually is.

Good luck,

Laszlo