Chesapeake 17

This is my first build and it is a learn as you go process. I have the inside of the hull filleted and epoxied. So far, so good, other than a few work sessions extending to the early morning hours. Time flies when you are having fun.

Several problems have given me some questions that need answers from more experienced builders.

I applied the 3" fiberglass to the fillets with a brush and epoxy. One edge of the tape was thicker than the other and after curing this edge was noticeably higher than the other. I used a scraper to bring that edge down and applied the second coat of epoxy. All is good. Is this a normal situation with the glass tape?

Now the the boat is upside down and ready to be filled and sanded prior to glassing.  I noticed that the bow and stern have slight twists in them. As I sight down the keel to the bow and stern there is a kink at the points where the bottom and side panels join. I took care to take out the twist in the hull using the sticks at the 1/3 and 2/3 positions, and used a line to bring the ends to line up with the center line. Everything else looks good. Is there any need or any way to straighten these out?

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 17

Somehow I posted the previous before I was finished.

Continuing:

I could sand the problems out, but that would eliminate a layer or two of plys, and I suppose would mean a painted hull. Some thing I have considered from the start.

I may try a heat gun carefully used to solve this.

What do you think?

Buzz

See previous thread on epoxy fillet softening/adjusting:

http://www.clcboats.com/forum/clcforum/thread/22127.html

Note, this was a 12" long section of fillet which I was able to soften and adjust panel alignment.  Your situation sounds a lot more extensive, I couldn't imagine doing a much larger area at one time.  If you feel you can make your adjustment in stages, it might work out.