automobile clear coat instead of varnish

I am wondering if you can use a good automobile cear coat instead of varnish and if there is a down side to this

Thanks

10 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: automobile clear coat instead of varnish

A two-part urethane clear coat will be clearer, harder, and last much longer than varnish, but is expensive and can be difficult for an amateur to use. If you try it, be sure to use a good respirator.

I have found that single-part Minwax Helmsman Marine Urethane is easy to apply, exceptionally clear, and lasts a lot longer than varnish.

-Wes

I know a guy that did it because his brother-in-law was a car painter.  It came out looking very nice, smooth and shiny.  Its truly clear, no hint of amber that varnish gives.  It is prone to swirl marks but a quick and simple buffing/polish a couple times a year keeps it looking great just like a car.

I'm no expert by any stretch, but are you folks talking about clear coat or Minwax varnish over epoxy?  How do you know it's providing the UV protection needed?

Personally I would stick with a company like Interlux that specializes in marine paints and varnishes.  If you look at Minwax's website they say the varnish is for furniture and that kind of thing--no mention is made of marine use, even though it says Marine on the label. 

Unless you are absolutely sure you get the UV protection you need for the epoxy I would stay away from anything that is not intended for marine use, e.g. Interlux Schooner Gold.  I'd much rather have a yellowish tint than "crazed" epoxy that has to be sanded down to the wood and replaced, but that's just me. :-)

Hey Duck,

You're right, there's no reason to have UV inhibitors in clearcoat, you hardly ever see cars out inthe sun :-)

Laszlo