What is a good orbit sander to use?

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Orbit Sanders

REVIEW: Eight Random Orbital Sanders Wood_Ogre » Tue, November 2 » 11:22 PM

I use and like both Porter Cable and Dewalt

If you have the do-re-me This one is totally awesome!

Dan

I have an old Ryobi 1/4 sheet sander and a Dewalt hook & loop disk RO. Dewalt is nice but the speed control switched pooched early on and now it is a one-speed sander. Using it this AM - #80 grit, time to quit!

Have to agree with Dan.  I have the Festool RO 125 and a Festool vac that I bought when I started sanding.  Unbelievable, no dust.  The regular random orbitals are fantastic.  I prefer 5" over 6" to get into tighter areas.  Their abrasives are proprietary, but close to price of any better grade paper, and lasts as long or longer.  Just the dust control alone is worth the price.  I should have purchased sooner, as I am a semi retired contractor.  Would have not breathed the pounds of dust that I have over the years.  You get what you pay for.

I have been fairing my boats with the extra foam pad on this thing and 50 grit. No planing at all. Just a little scraping of excess glue. Then a final sanding at 80 grit and glass. There are no swirl marks with this sander. And did I mention no dust?

No, I'm not on the Festool payrole.

Dan

I assume you meant ROS... random orbital sander. There's nothing special about it, but I'm using a Bosch.

https://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=ROS+random+orbital+sander+reviews

Keith

Used my Festool ETS-150/5 to build my 17LT.  It is expensive, but the dust collection with their CT vac is first rate and the variable speed gives you lots of control.  I already had the tool for other projects, so you'd have to weigh the cost for sure.