Skerry Floorboards

I found a website featuring a Skerry builder's design for floorboards and found them to be a worthy consideration for installing in my present in-process Skerry.  My question is, does anyone have any experience with this innovation and I guess, for John, does it compromise his original design of the Skerry in terms of the boat's evolution?

The floorboards look like a nice feature and I wonder about the availability of a kit to build them because I simply don't have the experience, skills, or equipment to cut a piece of wood straight without instruction.  This is my first try at building a boat and that's why we did the Skerry in the course setting.  We're doing just fine though and can't wait to get her launched.  Maybe the end of September, we'll see.

Comments on the floorboards welcomed.  Best, Bob

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Skerry Floorboards

Bob,

I sailed Mike Delchambers Skerry last year in Texas and he has the floorboards in it. I will definitely do the same when I build mine. It might raise the center of gravity a few inches but there were no ill effects on sailing at all. If you get a bit of water in the boat you're not sitting in it. As far as building them, I know there's a guy who sells plans on the Skerry forum and you could probably find somebody with some woodworking skills to help you out.

Post pics when you get her launched!

George K

When I built my Skerry I intended to add floorboards in case water came in and also it adds a significant wow factor.

Now that I have a summer of sailing under all kinds of weather, getting wet with water coming in is a non-issue. My skerry has been consistantly bone dry even in wicked wind.

Also I have found that on a few occasions I have had to move very fast sitting on the floor and sliding to a better balance position. I think that floorboards would have hindered me.