Newbie-Build from kit or from plans

I'm a newbie to the forum.  I'm looking at building a Wood Duck 12 and am trying to decide whether to build from a kit or from the plans.  I have built  stitch and glue sailboat with someone more skilled than I, so have a fairly good understanding og the process.  However, the kayak will probably be less forgiving in terms of cutting than the sailboat.  Recommendations? Jim

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Newbie-Build from kit or from plans

As a total novice plans builder (WD10), I had a fair amount to learn and do before reaching that point where I was ready to start building. Lots of time transferring the lines and lots of time cutting. As time rather than money was something I had plenty of, this was ok. Maybe if I had it to do all over again I'd opt to have the kit sent with all the parts cut already, so I could focus my energies on the assembly and the epoxy work, but there is something satisfying to starting with whole sheets of plywood and creating the parts yourself. With care, I'm sure anyone could do it if I did, but don't hurry and recognize the money you're saving equals time added to the build. Have fun!!!

I built my first from plans with some friends...we all cut out our parts together and bought wood together to save money, etc.   It went fine but it adds lots of hours to the process.   Plus the peices are not laser cut and perfect like you get from CLC which add some extra efforts making things straight.   Built my second with my son and bought a kit as he was very young at the time and I didn't want to add the extra 20 hours cutting peices.   Not doing my third and went with the kit as well.....realized that the fun and rewarding part is not cutting out the peices after all.   Unless it is a money issue, I would just order the kit and enjoy the process more.