SailRig MK2 Question

I've recently decided to build a kayak, and am in the process of deciding which kayak to build.  One of the features I would like to have would be to be able to add a sailing rig, and I'm very interested in the CLC SailRig MK2.

One concern that I have with this rig is how to build the akas.  I'm new to any type of boatbuilding or woodworking, and they look complex to build.  Does anyone have any experience they could offer?

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: SailRig MK2 Question

Hi Matthew, I think most all of your questions will be answered as your kayak build progresses. The amas are nothing more than small versions of the kayak and the akas are just contoured laminates. You will probably buils a table made of a sheet of plywood cut in half lengthwise as a work table. This table will be a good thing to build your bending form on to laminate the akas which will probably be at the end of your project. The akas are made up of several layers of wood bent over a form then glued togather. The result is a sandwitch that holds it's shape when the glue dries. You'll find this forum very responsive to your needs for help so go for it and enjoy the build, I guarantee you'll enjoy the results. SEEYA Jack

Thanks Jack.  Now to measure my garage to see how well a 17 foot kayak would fit :)

Instead of laminating cedar, I'm thinking about making MKII akas out of some 1088 marine plywood scraps I have lying around. I guess that the akas would be heavier than fir or cedar, but it sure would be faster not to rip lots of 8 ft strips and instead just laminate up a 2inch thick plywood sheet 144 3/4 by about 7 inches and then cut the nice aka curves to fit the plans. I could also just use thicker plywood and maybe only have four laminations, which might be a little easier/faster.