mast anatomy - help!

Okay, I'm in the late stages of building my Passagemaker, and I can't figure out the mast parts. i'm new to sailing in general.

There are four aluminum parts: one long, one shorter, then a short coupler and a long coupler. What goes where?

One of the couplers goes into the mast step, but which one? And does the bigger mast tube or the shorter mast tube go on the bottom? Alternately, which part do I epoxy the mast head into?

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: mast anatomy - help!

Aha!  I get to write my usual "Come join us over at the Passagemaker builders forum:  www.pmdbuilders.net " entry.  :-)

You'll find an amazing amount of info over there and lots of folks to answer questions.

That said...my kit (4 years ago) didn't come with a coupler for the mast step.

It only had the one coupler, but I'd think you'd want the longer coupler in the mast, and not in the step.

It doesn't really matter if you put the long or short section of the mast on the top or bottom.  Most of us glued the two pieces together, or built wooden masts, which really makes that a moot point.

But come on over to the PMD forum and tell us about your building adventure.

Jim

Yeah, I'd love to be able to post over there. I tried to register a few months back, and never got a confirmation email. Now, when I try to register, it says my email and username are already in use - yet it will not allow me to login. And there is apparently no one I can email over there for help. So I'm stuck posting here for now. If you can help me - please direct me!

Hello SiFu....  I was thinking about buildinmg the PMD about 20 months ago.  In my research, I noted that the WEAK LINK of the entire boat was the aluminum mast.  I suggest you build a wooden mast, using the bird's beak method.  It is real easy & VERY strong.  I have photos on what it looks like but don't know how to post photos here.  So feel free to en=mail me directly.